Ragtag Film Society, 2018 Arts Organization | key programs: Ragtag Cinema and True/False Film Fest

Missouri Arts Awards 2018

Since 1983, the Missouri Arts Council and the State of Missouri have been honoring our state’s arts heroes—the people who make the arts happen. The annual Missouri Arts Awards celebrate people, organizations, and communities that have made profound and lasting contributions to the cultural and artistic climate of the state. Honorees are selected by an independent panel in six categories: Arts Education, Arts Organization, Creative Community, Individual Artist, Leadership in the Arts, and Philanthropy.

The 2018 Missouri Arts Awards will be presented in a ceremony in the Capitol Rotunda in Jefferson City on February 7, 2018. Everyone is invited to attend.

Arts Education | Jeff Sandquist, Rolla
A force for the arts in Rolla and across the state since 1983 as a classroom music teacher, choral director, program designer, policy developer and advocate, and leader of professional organizations including his current chairing of the Missouri Alliance for Arts Education
• Missouri Alliance for Arts Education

Arts Organization | Ragtag Film Society, Columbia
Champion of independent media art, each year offering 3,000-plus screenings at Ragtag Cinema, producing the globally renowned True/False documentary Film Fest, and partnering vigorously with fellow nonprofits, educational organizations, media outlets, civic groups, and businesses
• Ragtag Cinema | True/False Film Fest

Creative Community | The Delmar Loop, University City and St. Louis
Mile-and-a-half stretch of Delmar Blvd. teeming with arts organizations, art galleries, one-of-a-kind shops and restaurants, and entertainment venues from music clubs to an arthouse cinema—rich in social, ethnic, and cultural diversity—a community convening place
• The Loop Special Business District

Individual Artist | Solomon L. Thurman, St. Louis
Artist, researcher, and teacher whose three-decade body of work brings art, history, and community together through paintings, drawings, and sculptures that tell stories of the African diaspora in America, drawn from historical events and his own family’s past
• Solomon L. Thurman | 10th Street Gallery

Leadership in the Arts  | Sharon G. Kosek, St. Joseph
Inexhaustible volunteer dedicated for four decades to every facet of the arts in her community, from chairing fundraising campaigns for the Allied Arts Council, to designing banners for the Saint Joseph Symphony, to weeding the gardens at the Albrecht-Kemper Museum of Art

Philanthropy  | Tom and Cathy Sakiyama, Chesterfield
Mainstay of several regional theatre companies especially STAGES St. Louis: donating substantial funds, sponsoring performances, providing resources for underserved students, underwriting meals for cast and staff, hosting out-of-town actors, doing hands-on volunteer work

Choosing the Honorees

The Missouri Arts Awards honorees are selected by an independent panel of distinguished representatives of the arts community from throughout the state. These panelists selected the 2018 honorees:

Marie Nau Hunter, chair, Columbia | member, Missouri Arts Council and Trust Board

Evelyn Craft Belger, Kansas City | director, Belger Arts Center and Belger Crane Yard Studio; president and CEO, Belger Cartage Service (2017 Philanthropy Co-Honoree)

Jerry Ford, Cape Girardeau | director, The Jerry Ford Orchestra (2017 Individual Artist Honoree)

Sharon Gray, St. Joseph | vocal arts teacher and arts volunteer

Jack Lane, St. Louis | executive producer, STAGES St. Louis (2016 Arts Organization Honoree)

Diana Moxon, Columbia | executive director, Columbia Art League (2015 Arts Organization Honoree)

Jo Mueller, Joplin | retired executive director, George A. Spiva for the Arts (2016 Leadership in the Arts Honoree)

Special Thanks

Governor Eric R. Greitens and First Lady Sheena Chestnut Greitens
Missouri Department of Economic Development
Missouri Office of Administration
Gateway Art Resources in Ste. Genevieve for their generous help with framing services