[Skip to content]

About Missouri Arts CouncilWhy Art MattersGet FundingArts EducationTouring PerformersSpecial ProgramsResources
Subscribe to our RSS Feed

Missouri Arts Awards


Since 1983, the Missouri Arts Council and the State of Missouri have been honoring our state's arts heroes—the people who make the arts happen. The annual Missouri Arts Awards celebrate people, organizations, and communities that have made profound and lasting contributions to the cultural and artistic climate of the state. Honorees are selected in six categories: Arts Education, Arts Organization, Creative Community, Individual Artist, Leadership in the Arts, and Philanthropy.

The 2014 awards were officially presented in a ceremony on February 5, 2014 in the Capitol Rotunda in Jefferson City.  For an edited video of the ceremony, including introductory remarks by Secretary of State Jason Kander and acceptance remarks by honorees, click here. These are the honorees:

• Arts Education: Margaret “Meg” Bourne Hulsey, Joplin
Founder and executive director of Art Feeds, which since 2009 has brought creative healing and creative growth through the arts to Joplin elementary students and schools free of cost via mobile programs

• Arts Organization: University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance
A civic cultural treasure, not only with university and community programs that serve nearly 3,000 students but also with over 300 annual performances including collaborations with local arts groups

• Creative Community: City of Kansas City
A cultural landscape that is more vibrant than ever, with burgeoning local arts organizations, the spectacular new Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, and the Mayor’s Task Force for the Arts

• Individual Artist: Sabra Tull Meyer, Columbia
Sculptor of several hundred works in bronze including more than 70 public works in Missouri alone, such as the Corps of Discovery monument and busts in the Hall of Famous Missourians at the Capitol

• Leadership in the Arts: Peter Sargent, Webster Groves
Dean of the College of Fine Arts at Webster University since 1995, resident lighting designer of the Repertory Theatre of St. Louis for more than four decades, advocate for the arts and arts education

• Philanthropy: Dr. Terry Brewer, Rolla
Owner and president of Brewer Science whose generosity supports both local and visiting theatrical, musical, and visual arts events in his small rural city on a level comparable to large metropolitan areas

For more detailed information on each of the six honorees, click here.

Choosing the Honorees

The Missouri Arts Awards honorees are selected by an independent panel of distinguished representatives of the arts community from throughout the state. These are the panelists who selected the 2014 honorees:

  • Cynthia Cartwright, chair; vice chair of Missouri Arts Council and Trust Board 
  • Jo Anne Grey, St. Joseph; arts advocate 
  • Marie Hunter, Columbia; arts advocate (2010 Leadership in the Arts Award) 
  • Ben Martin, Lee’s Summit; executive director, Missouri Alliance for Arts Education 
  • Karen Millsap, Mount Vernon; president; Mount Vernon Regional Arts Council (2013 Arts Organization Award) 
  • Betty Schaper-Fridley, Farmington; retired executive director, Mineral Area Arts Council (2011 Leadership in the Arts Award) 
  • Gerry Welch, Webster Groves; Mayor (2013 Creative Community Award)

Nominations for the 2015 annual awards will open in summer 2014. To get a jump on learning about the process, click here to see the nominations process for the 2014 awards. If you have any questions, please contact Virginia Sanders at toll free 866-407-4752, 314-340-6851, or virginia.sanders@ded.mo.gov

For a list by last names in alphabetical order of all Missouri Arts Awards recipients, click here. For a list by year, click here

The Signature Image

The photo Abstract Rose: Blue by Lynne Green of St. Louis is featured on the 2014 Missouri Arts Awards poster, the invitation to the awards ceremony, and the program for the ceremony, and will be the cover of Fiscal Year 2014 annual report. For more about Ms. Green, click here.

The "Awards Objects"

Recipients of the Missouri Arts Awards receive a handcrafted artwork created by a Missouri artist working in glass. The 2014 honorees received art by glass and ceramics artist Michelle H. Hamilton of St. Louis. For more about Ms. Hamilton, click here

For future reference, the 2014 Request for Qualifications for the awards objects is found here. For a photo tour of the artwork created for past awards, click here.  

Text Size: Smaller / Larger

Get the latest news and updates about arts & culture in Missouri. Sign up to get our monthly online newsletter, Art Starts Here.

Latest News
Poetry Out Loud MO Champ Read More

NEA Chair Nomination Read More

FY2013 Annual Report Is Online Read More